top of page

Philanthropy: The Force Awakens

"A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away..."

Okay, not really.

But it did all begin waaaaay back in spring of 2008. Some group called P.U.L.S.E. was losing its member from my year in school because the current member was moving out of the school district. P.U.L.S.E. needed to fill the spot. I had never heard of the group, but I, along with the other top ten students of my class, was given an application to join this group that did something called "philanthropy."

Well, okay. Let's be real. I mean, I'm not athletically inclined (working on that), I decided not to participate in that year's theater production, and there's only so much time one can spend in the art room.

So I applied.

And I was accepted.

And it was awesome. Terrifying at first, yes. I had no clue what was going on. There were about fifteen other students and most of them seemed to know what they were doing. I was handed a binder with some terminology and there were grant applications being handed out for us to review and there was talk about the first service project of the year. My head was spinning.

By the following spring, I was running for vice president. I lost the election. No worries. The guy who won couldn't have run the group better. However, for someone so introverted that at times I get my own name wrong when introducing myself and constantly using spoonerisms, that is a huge step, to run for an office.

But the next year I did start my Jedi training the next year. But more on that later.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Connect
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page